Dream Journal of June 2023

Posted by Antares on Mon Jun 5 2023 (Updated: Fri Jun 23 2023)

I write these down in the morning. Don’t expect perfect spelling and grammar until a few rounds of editing.

Not really a dream (Jun 22, 2023)

I spent a good portion of the night reading, while laying on the bed, about the tourist submarine that got lost on its dive to the Titanic (OceanGate). When I slept, I had visualizations of the photos I had seen of the submarine.

Playing Minetest in the Grave of Toga (Jun 21, 2023)

I had a weird dream that Towa Hirugashi, Setsuna, Moroha, Kagome, and Inuyasha were basically playing Minetest at the grave of Toga the Heavenly Dog Daiyokai. They were building some kind of temple or altar to honor Inuyasha and Sesshoumaru’s deceased father. However, there were some poison tiles that still lingered from the first encounter with Sesshoumaru that had to be cleaned up.

They were using a decorative stone block with black outlines and a dot in the middle. They were going for a chamber room with two wings on the side. And while they were playing, Towa showed to her sister and cousin a dance to a stupid teeny-pop song she learned from Tiktok.

Later Inuyasha has to save Sesshoumaru. The latter had been trapped in his demon dog form and brainwashed by Zero. The spell cast by Zero, however, was easy to break, and the only thing Inuyasha has to do was transform Tetsaiga before Sesshoumaru’s eyes. Having been released, Sesshoumaru stole the purple Archon Shard that was impaled in Zero’s chest.

Skydiving Declined (Jun 20, 2023)

Evil Sea Frog Dungeon (Jun 19, 2023)

I had an unusual dream that crossed over Guilty Gear and Pokemon. The protagonist was Ky Kiske, whose backstory was not a knight elected to become a king by the Illuminati; instead, he is a prince on a journey to prove himself. He travels with a sometimes-changing group of friends he sometimes duels with for fun.

In this episode, sentient evil sea frogs have cursed a harbor village, and Ky must lift this curse. His team for the mission involved an amalgram of May from Pokemon and May from Guilty Gear, Johnny from Guilty Gear, and Kirara from Inuyasha.

The group is guided by a giant flying sea turtle sage who reveals the source of the curse. It was upon the shell of the sea turtle that Ky and Johnny rode upon. While May rode on Kirara.

The turtle explains that the curse has been cast upon a harbor village by the sea frog spirits in an abandoned, almost-sunken temple. Ever since the tides have risen and worshippers stopped visiting, the sea frog spirits had become spiteful demons.

The direction in which to travel is however guided by a ravenous swordfish that must be constantly fed in order to keep going. The task of constantly feeding the fish was relegated to May.

Ky was busy listening to the turtle until he noticed how May was keeping the swordfish fed. To his surprise, what she did was throw Pokeballs to feed Pokemon to the swordfish. And when he second-guessed her conscience on feeding her Pokemon friends to the swordfish, she just said they were recently caught wild Pokemon and she could always get more.

The party then arrived to the sea frog temple which looked like a cone shell sitting atop the surface of the water. The temple itself was small, the only readily accessible room was a small lobby that doesn’t connect to anywhere else, and it was full of very grumpy sea frogs that sternly said that any humans that entered better have a good reason to be present.

As told by the sea turtle, in order to stop the sea frogs from being evil and to lift the curse, Ky must make them realize wealth they didn’t know they had. This wasn’t immediately obvious because the temple was just a tiny room with no immediately obvious inventory. But then Ky found and flipped a light switch on a wall whch means the sea frog temple had electricity (and was connected to a grid built by humans).

Out for a Restaurant Open Past Midnight (Jun 17, 2023)

I wanted to drive out for a meal at a fast food place, but it was an extremely dark night without hte moon or ambient light from the skies. So I went towards the one place that would still be open past midnight.

When I drove down the main boulevard of town, nothing seemed familiar, and the usual landmarks I use to orient myself aren’t there. So I had ended up driving in one direction to the absolute end of town to a neighborhood in a dark forest.

I try to find a road that lets me turn back, but I end up getting out of my car. I find nocturnal guy walking his dog, but I didn’t ask him for directions.

Like it was Dark Souls, my friend got summoned and we started roaming the forest. We came across a burrow with a bunch of gold coins stashed at the end of a short tunnel. But the tunnel gets too small for me to crawl through.

A dwarf witch then magically appears and chides us that its her burrow and if we wanted gold, she recommended we traverse the dungeon she visits to farm gold (like in a video game). We agree and she teleports us to a library that looked like The Dukes Archives from Dark Souls.

It turns out her gold-farming strategy was to aggro every animated flying book and lamp post then kil everything with a channeled area-of-effect (AOE) spell. My friend and I had armor, and we were basically used as bait to keep attention off her and let her channel her spell.

A bunch of gold coins start flying out whenever a monster dies to her spell. After this was done, I wanted to go home

I ended up in a 2-dimension pocket dimension of the forest and I fight my way back home. This time the monsters that flew at me were baby phoenixes which had to be pacified with a Great Chaos pyromancy spell.

I was doing that fairly well that I made the petulant child of the forest warden envious. When I left the pocket dimension, my car appeared in my neighborhood but the pedal and the brakes were reversed. I ended up driving in the wrong direction until I woke up

Greek Dormitory (Jun 14, 2023)

I had a dream that I met a Greek guy who squatted in a college dormitory for over a decade. He had attended the university but had never graduated. Because of an odd Greek law that provides free dormitory lodging to students until they graduate, he still has his dorm room.

He doesn’t enter his dorm room from the main entrance to the campus. He instead uses the secret entrance near the park and the cliff . There was a staircase on the terrace of the cliff which leads to a underground tunnel entrance of the dorms.

Because he is exploiting the university’s resources, the university had been try to evict him for some time but with no success. It had varied from shutting off the water to denying him cafeteria access. This time, he was presently approached by university administration to be evicted. Whether or not he was able to stay depended on paying a lawyer a retainer fee. Which is he did.

School Shooting (Jun 12, 2023)

I had a nightmare about going to school at the time of a school shooting.

The campus looked like the local community college combined with the local high school. Some areas were also scaled up larger than they are in real life.

The area that got scaled up was doorless hall underneath the staircases nearby the elevator. It looked like this.

Past the end of this hall, I had seen a man with sunglasses, a bandana wrapped around the lower half of his face, light blue jeans, and a handgun.

He was walking towards a large group of students.And when I spooted him, I ran and shouted I saw a gunman. The people in the immediate area didn’t believe me until the first shots, which then everyone ran in a single direction. (Based on the position of the sun, I think this was west; the dream featured cloudy early morning conditions typical to a time before 8 AM.)

I was conflicted about picking the direction to run in. As this was a hall, I only had two choices which was the same direction as the other students, or the opposite direction from which the shooter came from. If I ran in the same direction as the students, I would be running into the shooter’s view. If I ran in the possible direction, I risked being the only target if other shooters came. Which they did.

There was a 40+ year old red-headed guy and one woman who arrived to shoot up the school. So I just had to start running with the rest of the students and used some bullshit dream powers like cloaking so I don’t get shot. I, however, had a shot fire close to me because turning invisble didn’t stop the redhead who blankly stared at me from hearing me.

After running sufficiently west, I was at the school parking lot where I didn’t have my car parked. There was still no sign of the police. So I decided to jump the fence over to the suburban neighborhood.

I ran through a farm and towards home thinking I would be safe, but as I was running through the field, I found out I was being followed on foot. The school shooters were now roaming the practically empty suburbs while most adults were at work.

Last thing about the dream I remember was two armed women in punkish clothing and a face covering walking with a guy dressed in forest-green military uniform. He looked higher rank and had a visored hat.

No Dream (Jun 11, 2023)

I forgot this dream. On Saturday, I had my phone my bed. This always makes it harder to recall derams.

I fainly recall doing some kind of paperwork at a table thinking about an objective that involves four characters.

Red, Blue, and Yellow Crystal Shards (Jun 10, 2023)

I had a dream about a middle-aged man who had found red, blue, and yellow crystal shards. The crystal shards were about 2-3 feet in length and had a width wider than the grasp of a hand. To make writing this down easier, I’ll call him That Guy.

He recruited followers under the promise that he would grant strength of mind with the red shard, creativity with the blue shard, and awaken unrealized leadership potential with the yellow shard. I however was not convinced and believed these were hollow promises only so he could accumulate power for himself only; and that by following him, people were actively demonstrating the opposite of the traits they hoped to gain for themselves.

In an auditorium, That Guy had started a ritual for the yellow shard, and I tried to intervene. There were over seven rows of at least ten people seated for the show. From the door, I called out to them in a last minute attempt to save them from the ritual’s effects, and the first person who believed me and stepped out of the room was a friend from elementary school. After one person, then came a few, then a larger group, as though the number of people who stopped believing and undergone a snowball effect.

There were some people left who waited for the rituals completion. From the door, a few people and I watched to see if any of them would change their minds. They, of course, stared back either with a stubborn look on their face or profound disapproval. Ultimately there were too few people for the rituals completion.

I then turned into a large raven and stole the blue shard from That Guy. I flew out a theater hall into a shopping mall, and then a parking lot. Then I disappeared completely to somewhere else.

Next thing I remember about the dream, I had to visit someone. I was in some tiny state in New England and there was a driving route to “Japan” that was only a few turns driving, in the same suburb, that looked like it only would have taken 20 minutes walking. The person I had visited was a Japanese game developer is in conflict with but ultimately has to acquiesce to the demands of a western “suit” (The Suit) — someone who is either an investor or an higher-level executive.

He gave me a demo to play of the beta version of the game. The boss fight was some combination of the Succubus from the Devil May Cry reboot and the Ceaseless Discharge from Dark Souls. The boss was worm-shaped but did not hang upside-down, and the fight took place in an area with a lot of lava. The way I had beat the boss was jumping onto the boss’ head and swinging my sword downward until the health bar depleted; the boss had no animations that would hit directly above its character model.

This fight looked pretty stupid and constrated heavily with the official promo video of the fight where the player character jumps from platform to platform, acquring floating weapons along the way. This was the fight as intended by The Suit. But as I was told by the game developer, The Suit didn’t care about exploits that make the boss look unengaging or stupid easy as long as more people try to emulate what was shown in the promotional videos.

Edge of a Video Game Map(Jun 9, 2023)

The hazard is a cliff to absolute nowhere. Like the end of a buggy video game map, the skybox is underneath the terrain and the ground was a flat crumpled texture.

The police were only concerned about cars driving off the cliff, but not with people approaching the cliff (tourists). When I approached the cliff, I was curious whether there was a teleport brush or a kill brush at the bottom.

Out of morbid curiosity, I had dropped my car keys off the cliff. A few seconds later, the keys had teleported somewhere else near the edge and I retrieved them.

I then drove back on the correct route home, but I found a potted plant I had been tending to for the pas two months had been manged by someone.

Robot Selling Food (Jun 8, 2023)

The next scene:

St Patricks Day in June (Jun 7, 2023)

Deranged Chemist (Jun 6, 2023)

Golf at the Top of a Hill (Jun 5, 2023)

I had a dream about two hills and a strange golf-like sport. A similarity was to get a ball towards the goal in the least amount of moves. A major difference was drawing a sketch before making a move. For the current course, the starting point was at the top of a hill that had two peaks. One peak was lower than the other.

I was playing with someone, and the drawing I had made was very confused. In the same drawing, I had drawn an object from two different perspectives.

As the goal was at the base of the hilll, my strategy to get the ball to the goal was to roll the ball down. Then I planned to make another move which would put the ball towards the goal. I would however make extra moves around the base of the hills.

The guy I was playing with said I was overthinking about the shortest path to the goal. From the top of the hill, he hit the ball which rolled up the second peak then down a side right into the goal. (This was basically a hole-in-one.) When I had drawn a three-dimensional sketch of the hill from mixed perspectives, he had drawn a simple two-dimensional sketch.

In the next scene jump, I was running track with a group of people. There was someone wearing red that called me a word I didn’t recognize that started with the syllable ‘co’. The word had to be explained to me by another person. The word could be roughly translated to “target”, but it specifically meant the person who called me that was hostile but will not pursue or attack me because of a situation or condition other than the law.

(This had reminded me of the Red Veil syndicate from Warframe which is hostile towards my player character, but can be interacted with on neutral terms depending on the mission.)

I also recall a scene in that one of my online friends who I only communicate with on Steam sent me a friend request and message for a chat client I didn’t tell him about.

Pagan Worship in a Museum (Jun 4, 2023)

I had a dream that I was trapped with one other person in a museum of ancient pagan artifacts. (They look Greek-influenced.) The artifacts were generally ceramic figurines and pottery depicting the gods of different aspects.

The gods have not been worshipped for centuries and they demanded the nearest humans (me and other guy) fulfill the long due rituals in “The New Temple” (the museum). About every second when we were not actively fulfilling a ritual, such as walking from point A to B, there was a chance a force of death would be summoned and instantly kill us. Which I thought if this was a game, it was terrible game mechanics and crude incentivization.

One ritual I had done was for a goddess who was represented by a statue of a woman carrying a pot of water. I had to pour clean, drinkable water (and not the chlorinated water at the foundtain in the lobby of the museum) at the top of the statue, which would flow down into the pot she was carying.

The next relic I had interacted with was a scarlet “mozaic” carpet of sacred fibers. Despite it’s age, it did not lose dull or wear out. It belonged to a male god from the south`, but I don’t know what he represented. The carpet could open portals however. The squares on the mozaic would turn the same color and a rift would open to somewhere else. There were like 4 different bad endings associated with going into the wrong portal. All of which involve getting trapped or killed.

Jungle of a Hollow Asteroid (Jun 3, 2023)

I had a dream I was playing a video game that took place at a jungle in a hollow asteroid.

There was a brief moment where I tabbed out to a personal website of an e-celebrity that had hundreds of followers on TikTok and Twitter. The color was black text upon desaturated cyan. But I couldn’t tell, aside from chatter and gossip on her timeline, for what accomplishments or talents was this person followed.

Tabbing back into the game, the jungle had a lot of ferns, foliage, and lava. The asteroid was colonized by a group of golems, sometimes covered in lava, who worshipped a volcano god. Many of them were wardens who wielded staves and had jobs for fleshy adventurers to take on.

I had a personal cave dwelling to myself. There was a small cabinet with plates on the shelves. Before I did anything, I placed three figurines on the shelves. That way, I could bless myself with extra experience or resources kind of like the True Master’s Font in Warframe.

My room however got filled with lava after I left.

Later when I asked a warden for jobs, he(?) it(?) had four daily-available quests. Two of which I was just not interested in. One job was to collect a cultist leader’s medallion, a cult had been summoning demons to the asteroid. And the other was to kill 10 demons, demons that favored fire and infernal environment introduced by lava but were not conducive to the ecosystem the golems wanted to build and maintain.

Dead Paladin (Jun 2, 2023)

I had a dream I was playing a game like Diablo II: Lords of Destruction. I was playing a Paladin that mainly uses the ability Smite (a shield bash attack that never involves a chance-to-hit roll).

I ran him through some map that looked like the Worldstone Keep. I was right up to Worldstone Chamber, but there were a few deviations from the real video game map. Instead of a small enclosed area with a bridge, the worldstone Chamber was a square shaped maze. In addition to the boss, there were minions.

Something I knew about the Paladin character I had played was that he did have the quest completed, so the boss encounter was a re-run. However, I also knew the Paladin character wasn’t strong yet; the purpose of the run being to level up. Despite, I decided to give the run my best effort and keep going.

I had actually gotten the Paladin character killed however. He was surrounded by dark blue Gorebellies. He was a Hardcore character too, so I effectively lost the character and can’t play as him anymore. Since Paladin was one of my least favorite character classes, I was quite distraught about it because he was the only Paladin in my list of characters. (Which I treat like a collection of builds I have played as.)

I decided to play as a new character, but I ended up making a new Necromancer for some reason, even though it would not resolve the issue of not having a Paladin anymore. I powered through Act 1, then ran Act 2’s False Tombs of Tal Rasha, and got to a respectiable level of 54 in a few hours.

I had a second or second part to the dream, but I forgot it because I laid on the bed and started thinking about random other topics.

Skull-Decorated Acoustic Guitar (Jun 1, 2023)

I woke up in the middle of the night a few times. I had three separate dreams.

  1. I don’t remember this one. Whenever I think of traveling or airplanes, I feel like my memory is getting jogged.

  2. I was carpooling with a friend at night. I had two important items with me which was an acoustic guitar with metal skulls on its frets and my pet budgie in an unorthodox, unsafe bird carrier.

  3. I was swimming in the ocean with friends. I was reading a cartoon and video gaming magazine. One of the panels contained artwork of mermaid characters from a nonexistent cartoon series. The mermaids had purple skin and fish tails of various fish species including sharks.

For (2), I think we were out to get various things done, but we got scatterbrained in the process to the point we were parking and driving two separate cars with my important items in two separate cars.

One goal was to buy a new pet as a companion for my budgie. While my friend was driving, I just started playing with the guitar. I had hit random notes, also by tapping the skulls on the frets (which resulted in power chords).

I remember the loop I played (8 seconds), but I don’t have the literacy skills to write it down. I feel like I got the loop from background music that exists but I have trouble attributing it.

For (3), I had the idea of relaunching my video game server after seeing crowded game servers with 30-50 players on them. (The game is designed to be played by 10 8 players on each team at most.) However, it has been a long time since I had operated it. So I referenced user manual (doesn’t exist IRL). I was able to read the headings but didn’t bother reading the text, but it had represented what I knew in configuring and operating the game server.