Dream Journal of May 2023

Posted by Antares on Sat May 13 2023 (Updated: Mon Jun 05 2023)

Interrupted Sleep (May 31, 2023)

I slept late and woke up around 3 AM.

What I remember of a dream was landing a plane during the late night. I was approaching the runway at a low speed and keeping the angle of the plane appropriate for a safe landing. I was around 20 to 40 feet in the air with the landing gear deployed before I woke up.

Stray Owl (May 30, 2023)

There are two parts to this dream I remember.

One was having some paranormal title like a witch or wizard. I would almost say witch. Instead of the pointed hat, broomstick, and cat archetype, the tools of trade was a spirit that serves the same function as a smartphone with GPS, a mastiff, and some other accessory I don’t remember.

After midnight, some other witch and I had exchanged words (don’t remember). Because her dog was temporarily away, she felt her magic wasn’t as powerful as it should be at the current moment. She later attacked me and my dog for reasons I don’t remember.

The next scene was afternoon. Something about the dream told me I was in Ohio. There was a shopping mall combined with an airport, and floating buses. The day was so hot I was certain this wasn’t actually Ohio but somewhere sooth and coastal instead.

There was a floating bus that transferred people between two buildings at the second story. If it wasn’t for the second story, it would almost seem pointless because the builds are within walking distance from each other. While I was in the vehicle, I had encountered someone from my childhood who I had only encountered once during a summer program. He somehow recognized me and wanted to catch up. I wasn’t as interested because he wanted to play golf.

Just as I was leaving the building, I found a white owl with a tag on its leg. It didn’t seem to belong to anyone. Some other lady who noticed the owl recognized the tag on its leg, and said it was from the pet store on the upper floor.

I felt extremely tempted to leave the building with the free owl. The dream ended somewhere around the time I thought about having an owl under the same roof as a budgie.

A Song of Earth (May 29, 2023)

I had trouble recalling dreams the last week.

What I remember of this one was walking from a crowded marketplace to a school. The class lecture I had to sit in for involved taking notes for absolutely useless information.

A teacher from middle school wanted me to memorize the hex color codes for a bunch of random colors. There was no lesson in how the color codes represent colors. There was only raw memorization of magenta, olive green, and navy blue, etc. When he noticed I wasn’t taking notes, I just said this was useless information.

Next, I remember I was trying to play a music game. A song by the title “A Song of Earth” was set to play, and I just went with it. The game involved the entire number row however.

When the game started, a flood of notes started falling from the top of the screen to the bottom. It was virtually unplayable because I would basically need all of my fingers to hit all except three of the keys on the number row.

The game played the note on key press. I couldn’t hear the actual song behind my discordant keyboard mashing.

Spaceship Motel (May 22, 2023)

  1. in some motel room
  2. trying to set something on fire with flammable liquid and a pile of cardboard and paper
  3. asking a neighbor for paper
  4. he gives me his notepad
  5. I ask him if he’s sure about giving me the notepad
  6. he says he doesn’t use it at all, so he doesn’t mind
  7. despite doing everything I can to start a fire, the fire keeps dying down as though there wasn’t enough oxygen
  8. but something is happening with the building; me and some other people go out of our rooms (other neighbor is a pair of girls/women in their mid-20s)
  9. it turns out the “motel” we are in is a giant capital spaceship that is being attacked
  10. it makes fighters and interceptors look like fruit flies
  11. the fighters and interceptors attacking are Xenon N and Ls from X (Egosoft video game series)
  12. there is a giant swarm and we have to go out and defend the ship
  13. the guy who gave me his notepad now remembers that notepad is the captain’s/pilot’s log from the game, and he needs it back.

“Hey, I now see the value in writing things down. Can I have my notepad back?”

  1. all of the Xenon N and Ls ignore me and I manage to pick some off
  2. I hit one enough that it becomes inactive and I take a free spaceship for myself.

I had a large pile of cardboard and paper on the floor of my room (1-2). I dosed it with flammable liquid and tried to set it on fire even though it would damage the motel room. (7) Just about every strategy to kindle a fire didn’t work. I tried fanning the flames, but it wasn’t enough. When I lit the edge of a piece of paper on fire, I watched it slowly die down. There was no smoke, and no one seemed to care I was trying to set things on fire.

At (8) We had felt something happen to the exterior of the “motel”. I asked the two girls if they knew what was going on. But they knew about the situation about as much as I did (not much at all). Because of the state of my motel room, I asked if I could use their sink to brush my teeth which they let me.

For (10-11) The docking bay and airlock section appeared to be at the roof of the motel.

At (13) I don’t think I was able to give him back his notepad.

In (14) The weapon I was using shoots slow moving blue spheres that deal a lot of damage. I chose this because I can generally lead my shots. I had an unusual easy experience aiming at Xenon interceptors.

Micro-anchovies (May 20, 2023)

I had a dream attempting to drive home, but I had taken the wrong turn towards the center of town. There was a music festival and a public showcase. In the late afternoon on a Friday, I decided to check it out.

A famous drummer for a band had sponsored the development of genetically engineered micro-anchovies that shoot projectiles at spirochetes and other bacteria found in the human mouth. On sides of the room are clean aquarium tanks that don’t seem to have anything in them but water. In a video and slideshow, the micro-anchovies are said to be a predator that hunts microorganisms and they would improve oral health and ameliorate the threat of cavities if they were included as a mouth wash.

Later, I had gone to an ice cream and popsicle stand with unusual and amateur artwork on the boxes. It had depicted the story of a boy (14 years old) who was abandoned by his parents in the winter. The art style was anime-like and the character had large blue eyes and spiky short-middle brown hair. According to the illustrations, he was later saved and adopted, but there were two alternate and worse outcomes.

Both of the two alternate scenarios involved his abduction by ice spirits and his transformation into a werewolf. In one outcome, he is permanently a werewolf with some wolf features appearing in his human form: two wolf ears that make him popular. In the other outcome, the werewolf curse later subsides completely, but it has taken so much time out of his life, it is difficult for him to reintegrate.

I went to the restroom to wash my hands before I thought about getting ice cream. The restroom appeared to be normal but busy. I later noticed the restroom was pretty big and it had, behind the corner, a second set of sinks perpendicular to the door I walked in from.

After I washed my hands, I decided against getting ice cream and walked outside and down the street. I noticed a lot of people walking were teenagers, and one of the bands playing o the street was an amateur rock band. I don’t recall the lyrics, but the vocalist (male) didn’t seem to know what to do yet other than stand and hold the mic.

Further down, there was a makeshift dance floor (of flattened cardboard boxes) surrounded by crowd control barriers. The apparent host for the floor had brought a misbehaving pet parrot. His pet parrot was biting the zipper of someone in the crowd, and the guy was softly but sternly scolding the parrot to stop and slowly pulling the parrot away.

Head Injury and a Murderous Shadow Figure (May 19, 2023)

  1. waking up in a make-shift hospital in a poor, rural village
  2. there was a VHS TV, one of which briefly displayed an androgynous character with 80s style big-hair doing a back-flip onto a tight wire
  3. neither the receptionist or he doctor knew what I was talking about when I described the scene to them and asked for title and source
  4. at night encountered a “shadow man” murderer and escaped
  5. no phones, no emergency calls
  6. tried to warn everyone, but no one heeded me adequately
  7. hospital receptionist got murdered
  8. ran for the entire dream telling passersby a neighboring village is encountering a series of murders

I was in there (1) for a head injury.

The make-shift hospital appears to be a normal house lacking most furniture except for patient beds. (2) When I woke up I watched the television, and saw an androgynous anime character with lavender hair, wearing all white.

I was curious about the anime, and it appeared to be playing from a tape. So I asked whatever staff I can find about the show. But none of them could tell me nor did they recognize what I was talking about based on description.

I was walking outside afterwards. I must’ve woken up around dusk. The sun was setting, and the sky was red/orange-yellow colored. When before it had finally set, I encountered a shadow-person. Staring at them was like staring into complete darkness. Not even the ambient light from the skies or the moonlight shone where they stood.

I perceived the shadow to be a threat and I ran into warn people about it. But the receptionist did not believe me. I found absolutely no way to convince her, so I left the hospital Behind me I had heard a bloody scream from her.

I kept running for the rest of the dream. For the direction I chose, the sky was set at an earlier time of day. When I had ran to the neighboring village, the sun was setting just like the time when I was at the hospital, I had told passersby about the neighboring village’s murders, and kept running.

I finally ran to a city set in the afternoon.

Dive to Underwater Volcano (May 16, 2023)

I had a dream that comprised of the following. I only had time to write down bullet points in the morning.

  1. a celestial event that people bought plane tickets to observe because there was a full cloudy day/night
  2. instead of going to said event, I decided to go to cave diving class to visit an underwater volcano
  3. there was an underwater tunnel where I didn’t have my oxygen tank properly equipped and I held my breath for an unusually long amount of time
  4. afterwards, my parents throwing out a favorite pair of shoes and buying a shitty replacement
  5. having to go out of my way to buy a new pair at a skyscraper-mall
  6. a cloud in the morning sky bursting with people parachuting from observing said celestial event

For cave diving class (2-3), the instructor was consistently at the front of the class, and there was no supervisor at the back. A break had taken place in a rocky enclosure with air, but I had noticed late the class started heading out. So I hurried to dive without properly equipping an oxygen tank. However, the tunnel appeared too long for me to hold my breath for, so I had tried to backtrack to the cave with air. The waters however were too dark for me to find the area again.

I had to choose between finding where I came from (A) or going with the class (B). I knew the direction of the latter and was uncertain about my ability to follow without running out of breath. So I went for option B to realize partway I’m holding my breath for longer than I thought possible.

For (4-5), they told me they hated seeing my old, worn out shoes and bought new shoes they thought I would like. They threw out my nice, plain black shoes without padded soles for black shoes with neon green colored trims and a padded sole. (Which I hated.) And they had told me, they thought I would like it because they saw the characters I play as in a video game. When I went shopping for new shoes, specifically the same brand and model of the shoes that have been thrown out, an AI salesman told me how I appreciate the truly finer things that my parents did not recognize.

Vacation to Amateur Video Game Map (May 14, 2023)

I had a dream that I had to go on vacation even if I didn’t want to. I got a free ride from my workplace to the airport from my parents. Like I was kid again, I had the backseat ll to myself and slept as the car was moving. For some reason, I was sleeping on top of a pile of gold and silver (like a dragon). But a portion of the pile was actually my parents’ which they took back after the car ride was over.

I don’t remember the plane flight, but the next scene was a hotel that resembled amateur work in a video game’s map editor. In my hotel room, there was a noticeable gap between the floor and the window that someone could fall through. I was at least 50 feet above the ground floor, so this gap was extremely dangerous.

I had changed clothing in the locker room presumably after swimming in a pool. But I decided I didn’t want to change in the locker room and wanted to change clothes in my room instead. I also had the extremely annoying sensation of having water stuck in both of my ears, and I could get it out for one of the ears by tilting my head to one side or the other. But I hated the sensation so much, I decided to use a cotton swab.

When I went outside, I noticed the hotel appeared as a castle on a floating island. The sky was orange-ish red like during the sunset. The building had an incomplete end (like an incomplete video game map), and I could decide how to finish the map. I felt like I was almost finished with the project but I was out of ideas. I added a downhill race track with a floating item pick up after a ramp that launches the player upward. The floating item pick up was Forma (Warframe).

The dream ended after I thought about how a game like Warframe with a persistent inventory would work with a Quake-style custom map. (It wouldn’t at all if players could make extremely rewarding maps and repeat them.)

Hellhound Hunting (May 13, 2023)

I overslept for this morning. The dream I had felt like some representation of my usual activities on my computer except every thing was happening in the world instead of on-screen.

I was playing a game (that doesn’t exist in real life) that took placed in a cursed and haunted city. In this so-called ghost city, there was only one street that was inhabited by humans. While NPCs tried to host their businesses in other buildings, the only safe, anti-demon, and anti-ghost building was one re-purposed hotel called “The Church”.

I decided I wanted to collect demonic runes because the items grant permanent, additive bonuses to stats. The only way to do so is to hunt hellhounds near the abandoned park. The tricky part about hellhounds is that they can appear in sometimes overwhelming groups, and their bites carry a curse that inflict maluses that do not expire until the mission resets. A group of 5 hellhounds was considered tough to manage, and any more was a dangerous situation.

When I had managed to collect 8 runes in total and wanted to go back, I was getting chased around an abandoned home’s fenced garden. As it was getting around midnight and there were 3 hounds, I was sure more demons would appear. At this point, I wanted to fast travel back to the main hub, but I needed some place so I can safely operate the game’s menus. My squad and I had ended up finding a way to climb onto the roof and head back.

The next scene I saw was a 3-dimensional website on the neo-classical web. While the website was updated this year, it had an individualistic, personalized, non-corporate aesthetic. It looked like it was made by a scene or goth girl from 2007 who was in to the horror-lite fad of 2009. The site appeared as a dark room where one can expect some kind of ghost girl jump scare, but it just contained her blog and her guestbook.

I didn’t really read into it and moved onto some memory of World of Warcraft’s night elf starting zone. Me and my friend were two Horde-aligned characters scouting the area. The two things I really took notice to were the giant green tarantulas and a giant tree guardian by the moonwell. The former were low-level questing fodder while the latter was something we shouldn’t aggro. If we stayed in the area for a long enough time, an orc infiltrator will set up a camp somewhere and turn the area into contested territory.

My friend and I had found a male night elf lowbie character, and we spammed emotes to indicate we weren’t interested in PVP. But because a tarantula spooked me, I accidentally shot a fatal shadowbolt at him. Afterwards, I checked back with the orc infiltrator, and he had successfully laid down a plot of land. The next thing to do was to teleport in merchants willing to keep the camp supplied.

The orc had contact with a ragtag team of humans defecting from the Alliance, the reason being the growing wealth gap in the Alliance economy and the civil unrest. All of the humans were basically hippies who had appropriated Tauren culture. They looked like they were going to sell beads and healing crystals. One of them gave me a quest to prove my flight skills to him for a later quest.

I could use my jacket as a pair of wings, and I had to follow an owl. But the owl had intermittently took breaks and perched on a branch which I could not do unless I anticipated it and gave myself a few extra feet above the target beforehand. So I had ungracefully landed on a branch by having my belly smack in to it. The NPC however did not judge against me for that.

Running Track in Purgatory (May 10, 2023)

I was competitively running track somewhere as and after the sun was setting. In the end I had to touch a flag pole in the middle of a set of stairs. I had the choice of either vaulting to it (which I can’t do in real life) or just running up the stairs. It had seemed physically risky and dangerous to vault because of how I would land on the stairs or if I would even accurately reach the target, so I ran up the stairs instead even though it would be slower. As a result, I was told by a zombie, the time I had gotten for my lap wasn’t bad (5:43), but it wasn’t the best (5:10), and since I had run my lap, it was just up to my teammates to get a better time.

I had the choice of either waiting for the race to finish or go back home where the latter was simply underneath the field where the race was held. I had then seen an episode of an unusual alternate version of Ed Edd ’n Eddy where Ed and Edd are great friends who talked to each other beyond getting a scam done for Eddy. Here, Eddy instead was great friends with Rolf, and the two of them would come up with a scheme to extract labor from either or both Ed and Edd. In this episode Ed and Edd actively avoided Eddy and Rolf, knowing if the latter was allowed any time to speak, there would be an offer that sounded too tempting to ignore yet have the same fate as all prior projects.

Afterwards, I had seen the field again. “Until light returned to the sky”, I was playing as the Nova warframe and killing skeleton soldiers who were rising from the earth. In the end, there had been one skeleton soldier left who had then attacked a zombie walking his undead dog.

The undead dog had been struck by the skeleton, and the zombie had retaliated. I rushed over to help the zombie and his dog, and I had considered casting a healing spell. However, I then remembered healing magic intended for the living can cause searing pain to the undead. Before I could do anything, the zombie silently and promptly rejected my help and instead covered his dog’s body with dirt.

Paleo Zoo and Bible Larping (May 9, 2023)

I have two dreams I don’t remember too well.

  1. was a #dream the night before. I was in a forest city and heard a public announcement on the radio about a baby Brontosaurus escaping a paleo-zoo. Incidentally, I had encountered the baby Brontosaurus. It was dog-sized and purple colored, and I picked it up with the intent of returning it to the zoo. (It was heavier than a dog of the same size.) It however would not stop moving, wiggled out of my hold, and I had to chase it around sometimes.

  2. The last dream I had involved Homer Simpson demanding his family re-enact a dinner story from the Bible. I don’t know what story it is, but he wanted his family to dress up in the robes and cloaks characteristic to ancient Israel. It was not related to Jesus or Christmas, but it involved a long table and a specific set of rituals that probably don’t exist in real life. Most of his family did not want to partake in his antics and only acquiesced in the absolute last moment (before midnight) just to make him happy.

Aggressive Hallucinations by “Hess Bea” (May 9, 2023)

A few nights ago I had a dream that I was watching a TV show.

The synopsis was that a man suffered a severe head injury involving a precision laser near a construction site. Part of his skull cap had almost been sliced off that along with a portion of his brain. There was only a slight hinge that kept the tissue connected. The doctors had given supportive care and hoped the injury would mend without any issue. And afterwards, the patient followed-up with a psychologist to track any sudden changes in personality or loss in intelligence.

When the wound had been thought to have mended completely. The man started seeing hallucinations of a child. A red-headed, ginger boy started haunting him claiming to be his inner child even though the man (brown-haired) never had red hair even in his childhood.

Whenever the man tried to deny any of the child’s statements, it resulted in an outburst. He would immediately black out upon any violent contact. In one instance, after blacking out, the man awoke in an empty apartment with the manifestation claiming to have signed a lease for the apartment in the man’s name. The reasoning being that the apartment was closer to the city, and the new residence would be better financially.

So he went to the psychologist about these manifestations, but he called him hallucinations. The psychologist suspected something was paranormal about these hallucinations. And to address the issue, the psychologist had found an overweight ginger man who was suffering similar conditions and possibly is an adult version of the child hallucination.

At this point I stopped watching and searched online for who wrote this story. I do not remember the title but the author was “Hess Bea”.

Pet Budgies in the City (May 6, 2023)

I had a dream that a pair of blue budgies escaped from their cages and flew out of my childhood home. I found the one that recently died in real life perched on a somewhat low branch near the drive way, and I offered my hand to try and take him back inside. He however ignored me with slightly fluffed up cheek feathers.

I felt as though it was the morning and I had to go to work. I couldn’t spend any more time trying to get him to cooperate. So I left for the city, hoping the bird will still be in the vicinity by the time my shift ended.

When I got into the car I saw the area around me “bleed” into a city. Intermittently, I had encountered an autistic manlet in a black Nazi uniform. (The same uniform as the Nazi vampire encountered by Sir Shelby Penwood in Hellsing during the invasion of London.)1

And he had told me he is on a mission to “impregnate white wombs”. Then further down the street, I saw a stand that appeared to be sponsored by a nonprofit organization. This stand had an infographic with information on how to make friends with black people. Which was (1) be black or (2) appear to be black. (2) had described getting a tan and hair treatments, and showcased Rachel Dolezal as an example.

Later, I got in a car but was stopped in unmoving traffic and I was now in the back seat behind the driver. I didn’t see who the driver was. But I looked out the window to see three blue budgies perching together on the guard rail of an apartment on the second floor.

The third budgie I recognized had been dead for a decade by now, and the second is still alive with me. They had seen me and one of them momentarily flew to perch on my elbow.

The Vampire Who Watches Torrented Anime (May 2, 2023)

I dreamt I was the vampire protagonist of Vampire: The Masquerade Bloodlines, but I didn’t want to get into gang fights or swim in sewers.

When I got a quest from my vampire brethren to fight plaguebearers and zombie dogs in the sewers of downtown, the first ladder was already the final straw. I gave up on the quest and didn’t care if it meant losing the nice condominium and going back to the crappy apartment in Santa Monica.

When I went back to the apartment, I decided to watch torrented anime translated by a middle aged lady who had been subbing anime and maintaining her web shrine since the year 2000. In the credits roll of the anime, she inserts her uncolored anime drawings of herself and her two kids beneath and between the text that fades in and out. She tells people to visit her website (has her own domain name) and her friends’ website with a less mnemonic URL (subdomain on angelfire).

I had a very hard time typing her domain name even though it was just one compound word of transliterated Japanese and was either .com or .net at the end. I had rewinded the video file multiple times in an attempt to copy the URL. Afterwards, an Amazon truck had crashed somewhere on the street. I had found a box with an untranslated Japanese manga. Every other book in the box was Amish romance novels with generic titles and cover art.

Guilty Gear Game Over (May 1, 2023)

I was swimming at a public pool. There was a special event where some guy would time people and compare them to Olympic swimmers. There were two pools and the guy was only at one pool.

About most people were at that pool to get compared to competitive swimmers, but I just wanted to swim for fun so I at the less populated pool. I basically had the entire pool to myself and could swim however I wanted without bumping into other people.

So then I was told by someone that I was swimming very fast and for the distance traveled, I was 5.43 seconds away from the world record. (There is no way IRL I would be able to swim like that.) And that I should go over to the other pool “to make it official”. So I decided to give that a try. By the time I went to the other pool, everyone else had left. Still, as it was a competitive swim pool, it was divided into lanes and I had to swim only in straight lines. But when I got timed by the “official guy”, he said I was real slow. As every swimmer had left, I had no one else to compare myself to, so I just took his word for it. Later the same person who told me to go to the “official guy” told me I should finish the storyline campaigns for the new Guilty Gear game (no subtitle specified). For absolutely, no reason, I listened to this person again.

In the new Guilty Gear game that doesn’t exist in real life, Sol and Sin grew monkey tails like they were the Saiyans from Dragonball. Ky had to infiltrate a castle full of death traps (like the fortress from Dark Souls) by turning into a pixie. The spell to transform into a pixie was on limited duration, but refreshed every time he had passed a checkpoint. Time however was so slim (3-5 seconds) that I couldn’t really inspect or look around the rooms, and I was constantly rushing to whatever I assumed or perceived to be the next checkpoint.

So I got sick of this game then let pixie spell run out and Ky get killed by a spike-ceiling trap. I then noticed the game had game over screens on what happens after Ky dies. As a result, Ky is in some purgatory spirit dimension watching the corporeal world. He sees himself in the mirror as a burning soul shifting between a skeleton and an angel (kind of like Dizzy’s Necro and Undine).

In the first post-game screen, his skeleton has been reanimated and sent back to Illyrian castle without notifying anyone. He had partial control of the skeleton but can not speak. Dizzy notices the skeleton but did not recognize it as Ky. So she interprets it as a monster and brutally destroys the skeleton.

In the second screen, Ky’s corpse is just sent back in a body bag unceremoniously. When Dizzy finds the body bag somewhere in the Illyrian castle, she immediately mourns his death.


  1. https://yewtu.be/watch?v=PMr3qnrxrSI↩︎